Starting with iOS 16, you can unsend or edit a sent message when texting someone who also has an Apple device. An easy way to tell if you are messaging a person with iMessage is the color of the messages. If the person also has an iPhone or iPad, the messages are blue. If the person you are messaging is not using an iPhone or iPad, the messages are green.
In order to unsend a message, it needs to be within two minutes from when the message was originally sent. To edit a message, it needs to be within 15 minutes of when the message was originally sent.
Unsending a Message
To unsend a message, long press on the message you want to unsend. Next, tap on either undo send.
If you unsend a message, the message will disappear from the other person’s message view. Please note: the person you are messaging must have iOS 16 or higher installed on their device. Additionally, they will see a notification that you unsent a message.
If you edit a message, there will be a note next to your message saying it was edited. A video example of a message being unsent:
If the person is looking at their phone, they will see a message notification and be able to see the message, but will no longer be able to see or read it once the message is unsent (as long as they have iOS 16 or higher).
Editing a Message
If the person who received the message taps on the edited text, they will be able to see a history of the edit or edits.
The previously edited message or messages will display slightly faded. If there are multiple edits, they will all be shown.
Have you unsent or edited a message? Let us know in the comments!